Blah, Blah, Blah, Something About Effective Communication

I, myself, being mostly an introverted individual, sometimes find it difficult to communicate with the people around me. Some are familiar with using the term “filter” when it comes to censoring one’s thoughts before they reach the lips. This isn’t exactly what I have a problem with. I’m usually very well aware of what I’m saying, my difficulty is that my filter gets clogged and I find myself lacking words entirely.
Small talk is easy enough, however, the more intimate the conversation, the more impossible it becomes for me to properly transfer a thought into coherent words. More lately, I find myself choked up and on the verge of tears more than I’d like to admit, usually for no particular reason. In all honesty, I’m fairly hard on myself in a losing battle for a desire to be…

A desire to be what…?
Perfect? No.
Just… Accepted, adored even.

At this point, I’ll take what I can get.

As far as learning to communicate effectively, it all begins with slowing down my thoughts enough for my vocal cords to be able to keep up. Perhaps it has something to do with nerves. For all I know, one of my thoughts that go racing by could have been a million dollar idea. Who knows? Something to add to my list of things I need to work on to better myself.

In the mean time, I leave you with this:

Actions really are capable of speaking louder than words. If you say you’re going to do something, don’t make a liar out of yourself.

Leave a Reply

